Monday, October 13, 2014

Andy Smithson Book 3

Not Your Average Fantasy Series – Book Three Launches Today!

In the tradition of C.S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien, author LRW Lee offers fantasy enthusiasts more than entertainment in the Andy Smithson series. Woven throughout her first two books, and with the launch of the third today, is a depth of meaning few authors today achieve. The planned seven-book series is a coming-of-age narrative of redemption about an overly ambitious prince who unscrupulously seizes the throne of the kingdom of Oomaldee from his older sister, Imogenia, plunging the land under a 500-year-old curse. As in all redemption stories, the offender, now king, is thwarted from restoring the kingdom by his own efforts and must rely on an unlikely candidate, an unextraordinary boy, Andy Smithson, to restore that which he most prizes.

For his part, Andy finds himself the chosen one to deliver this land having only his wits, experience as a gamer, a legendary sword and a magic key to rely on. Complicating his efforts, the king of Oomaldee’s northern neighbor, Abaddon, has committed to conquering the land, so in addition to breaking the curse, Andy must also overcome this evil monarch before true freedom exists.

LRW leverages symbolism extensively as she sets up tools and characters. A few examples: Andy’s sword, Methuselah (yes, think Biblical), is legendary in its dividing good and evil; the magic key unlocks (even stone statues) and reveals secrets; gold envelopes contain messages from an unknown eternal sovereign who knows the end from the beginning, and orchestrates events; purple (royal) message spheres (no beginning or end) trumpet messages from the king’s father from the afterlife, to name a few.

In keeping with traditional fantasy narratives, LRW also uses the numbers three, seven and twelve extensively. Three is considered the number of perfection, seven means security, safety and rest and twelve is the number of completion or a whole, perfect and harmonious unit.

Character names are also important in this series. Consider these: Andy, means brave or courageous. His best friend, Alden, means helper. Hannah, their female companion, means favor or grace. Others: Imogenia means blameless; Kaysan, the king, means administrator; Mermin, the wizard, is a parody on Merlin, and the list goes on.

LRW has also leverages the names of the books to imbue yet another layer of meaning, revealing Imogenia’s progress as she feeds her emotional hurt, moving from furious and venomous, to acting disgracefully, below the dignity of a royal. A tiny spoiler: as the series progresses, enthusiasts are sure to see this young woman evolve. Whether it will be for better or worse, LRW will not reveal.

If you are looking for a fantasy, adventure you and your children can sink their teeth into, I recommend LRW Lee’s Andy Smithson series. There’s far more here than meets the eye and it will give you much to ponder.

Just Released!

Genre: Middle Grade Fantasy Adventure
Number of Pages: 252
Synopsis: Now twelve, Andy discovers more than he bargained for when his parents reveal his mom's past and he realizes she will die when he breaks the curse unless he intervenes.

Andy returns to Oomaldee to find its citizens on edge after many have been turned into vulture-people. Against this background, Andy and his company embark upon the next quest, to retrieve the horn of a unicorn. But not long into it, a seductive voice calls to Andy, tempting him to surrender the next ingredient in exchange for a promise to preserve his mom. Will he be able to stop the transformation of Oomaldee’s citizens? Will he jeopardize his ability to end the curse to save Mom?

Purchase Kindle and Paperback

The Buzz
"Sometimes, I just let the 5 star rating speak for itself. I can add nothing more." - Wayne Walker, Home School Book Review
“I loved reading Disgrace of the Unicorn's Honor as much as I enjoyed the first two in the series. In Book 3, new life changing truths are revealed, Andy and friends go on high adventures, meet new characters and continue to battle evil. I was not ready for the book to end. As usual, L.R.W. Lee leaves Andy in an interesting spot and the reader longing for the story to go on. Can't wait for Book 4!”  – Maggie T. Amazon Reviewer

"A long-lasting story that is part of one of my favorite series." - Erik Weibel, This Kid Reviews Books Blog (Erik is 13)

eBook 1, Andy Smithson: Blast of the Dragon’s Fury is
FREE. Pick up a copy at Smashwords, Kobo, Google, B&N. You can also listen to the FREE podcast of Book 1 on iTunes. Book one is also available in paperback.

Book 2, Andy Smithson: Venom of the Serpent’s Cunning is available in Kindle and Paperback.

About the Author: L. R. W. Lee

L. R. W. Lee writes to teach her readers principles that can transform their lives – overcoming frustration, impatience, fear and more. She also shows why responsibility, diligence and dignity are the keys to true success in life. L. R. W. Lee lives in scenic Austin, TX with her husband, daughter and son.

No comments:

Post a Comment

I love comments. Please share: